Videos

Pentagrams

• Steven Matrix
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
08 Jan 2012 19:55 #1 by Steven Matrix
Replied by Steven Matrix on topic Re: Pentagrams

crystalcross wrote: Good morning,

I just want to be careful in the direction this discussion has gone. I always try affirm that we can't blame the faith for the actions of the people who follow it. I think if we lived by those rules, there would likely be far less wars.

I personally am Christian, but I also fully believe in spirits, and I am a scientist. So you wanna talk about a constant battlefield, just step into my brain for a moment. :D :D

Seriously though, there are so many faiths and belief systems and I personally think most all have a place, and if we look at most of them many are saying the same thing about alot, just with different labels attached.

Now when you have different belief systems there are several things you can do.

#1 - You can choose to ignore all others and pretend they don't exist. (Many do this)
#2 - You can highlight the differences, and attack those differences. (More do this, but it is totally unproductive)

OR

#3 - You can highlight the commonalities, find ways that they are similar, focus on those and try to create a community of people who can work together, learn, and grow. (What we're trying to do here)

I try to choose road #3. I personally think there is much beauty and validity in other belief systems. Since it was mentioned above, the Wiccan system especially. But many others as well. I think our time is spent so much better by acceptance and looking forward rather than back.

Looking forward is for living, looking back is for research. :D

I understand where you are coming from CC, but at points we will have to agree to disagree. The reason being that when lies and misconceptions are given to the masses that are in fact centuries old, false doctrines/belief systems can be the end result.